Penang

Most of the time, we are always about exploring foreign countries when we haven’t even seen much of our own country. Because we thought that we are here, we can go anytime we want but in the end we never did.

I went to Sarawak for the first time just maybe a year ago and I have never been to Sabah. I think that’s a shame and I will check that box soon, I hope.

I went to Penang recently for a short getaway. I never really treasured Penang before and I’m glad I have now because Penang is LOVE. I honestly don’t mind living in Penang. The vibe was all good there.

Processed with VSCO with c8 preset
Paper hot air balloons (Processed with VSCO with c8 preset)

IMG_2932

My first meal when I arrived – Mee Sotong. I’ve never had this before. The queue was long for this but it was worth it! You can find it at a food court alongside the paper hot air balloons in Georgetown. I apologise for the vague information. I can’t recall the name of the place :(

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Batu Ferringhi was fine but I didn’t go for a swim because it was more for water sport and you’re not allowed to swim so far. At least that’s how it was at Parkroyal Resort. I wanted to stay at Hard Rock Hotel but it was fully booked.

Processed with VSCO with a8 preset
Teluk Bahang Dam (Processed with VSCO with a8 preset)

IMG_3027

And then we went to check out a triathlon and duathlon event that was going on at Teluk Bahang Dam. It was cloudy when we got there but it was beautiful. We even bumped into my best friend, Aliaa’s ex-boyfriend who was competing so we stayed a while to support him. Not that Aliaa cared…hahah

IMG_3035

It was so hot on the first day in Penang but it rained all day the second day and this was the queue for Nasi Kandar Line Clear. Normally, I will not queue for food especially when it’s so uncomfortable but since I don’t go there everyday so I just went ahead with it. Well to me, it’s just like any other Nasi Kandar.

IMG_3039

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I told myself I must eat as much as I can when in Penang because I don’t really eat in Singapore :( and so I ate as much as I can as you can see.

The queue for this cendol is always long. This was my second time but if you don’t want to queue, you can get inside the restaurant, order something else and the waiters will get the cendol for you. Since I wanted laksa, so I didn’t have to stay in the long queue. Try to go there around 4-5pm, it won’t be too crowded inside.

IMG_2963IMG_2985

This is the gorgeous McCalister Mansion. I just love everything about it. The building and interiors are stunning and just perfect for special occasion dinner. But be careful when choosing the meal for each course especially when you’re not familiar with the menu.

And of course we had to go up the Penang Hill (Bukit Bendera) since we were already there. Unfortunately the view was not fantastic from up there because it was dusty and cloudy.

There’s still more to see and eat actually but I didn’t have the whole week for that. I hope next time I can visit the hipster cafes there. Oh did I mention, there are loads of Starbucks in Penang? almost at every corner. There’s even a stand-alone Starbucks there.

Overall it was a lovely trip and I could definitely retire in Penang.

One thought on “Penang

  1. zzzisle April 23, 2016 / 4:11 PM

    That was the famous cendol right? Always Long queue.

Drop A Comment

