Ma Chérie

A and I have been watching too many French films, I think we could speak fluent French in no time. Okay maybe not fluently, but I’ve learned a couple of words…most importantly is to pronounce them correctly. ;)

I grew up watching American movies, mostly. Then I discovered British movies which I thought, oh wow so much better than Americans, more realistic, unique and the accent and bla bla bla. Now I like French movies which I must watch with English subtitles. How I wish I knew French. It can be a hassle to find the subtitles. Glad that A loves movies too.

If I’m not wrong, our first French movie was Blue Is The Warmest Colour – a highly rated movie. The movie was refreshing for me. You will understand why if you know what it’s about. Since then we’ve been watching plenty of French movies. We just love them….and each other.

I find French movies genuine, simple and honest. It’s like they just do what they like and couldn’t be bothered about what would interest the public more or even what’s the latest technology in movie productions. Something like that. And I like that kind of thing. It’s not that I don’t watch American movies anymore but I am more selective now in what I watch. Two hours is a long time to waste on a crap meaningless movie let alone RM12 or more to spend at the cinema.

Anyway, here are some of the French movies that I can recommend:

  • Blue Is The Warmest Colour
  • Yves Saint Laurent
  • 2 Days In Paris
  • Young And Beautiful
  • The Women On The 6th Floor
  • Chinese Puzzle

The titles are all in English. That’s how it is normally. They have both titles in French and English. Like I said, French movies are honest so, viewer discretion is advised. :)

4 thoughts on “Ma Chérie

  1. Anonymous November 6, 2014 / 2:31 PM

    french movies are great! i love stuff from Francois Truffaut, Jean Luc Goddard, Jean Pierre Jeunet

  2. evnglka November 7, 2014 / 12:55 AM

    You should check these movies out too.
    -Amelie
    -Delicacy
    -Intouchables

    French movies are masters when it comes to flirting with emotions. Erotically subtle and leaves you craving for more. 😜

  3. Ana November 12, 2014 / 10:58 AM

    Watch J’ai tué ma mère! It’s not a love story but it’s a story about the bond of a mother and her son. Love it. Made me tear up at the end :)

    • Aysha November 14, 2014 / 2:54 PM

      Thanks for the suggestion! :)

Drop A Comment

