What Would You Change?

My job currently requires me to produce this show called ‘Stadium Unplugged’. It’s a one-on-one interview show with sports personalities, local and international. I’ve been producing the show for about three months now and it’s going to be over soon by end of the year. So far it has been a great experience. There are ups and downs, of course.

Producing the show means I am also responsible for the questions that need to be asked. I’ll have to prepare about 20 questions for the host to ask and normally we will have this question: “If you can change one thing about your life, what would it be?” or “If you could redo anything in your life, what would it be?”…somewhere along that line.

Most of the time….well I think all the time, the person will say they wouldn’t change anything about their lives, they have no regrets, that’s how life is, it is what it is. A part of me thinks that they are just too lazy to flashback and think of that one thing they would do differently or change. But I guess what I would prefer to believe is that, they wouldn’t change a thing because if what happened didn’t happen, they wouldn’t be where they are now.

For TV, of course it would be ‘better’ if they could mention a moment or a situation that they wished would have turned out differently but this isn’t a scripted show.

Recently, I went to the AFC House (Asian Football Confederation) which could have been my workplace if I accepted their offer eight months ago. I met my former boss from ESPN who’s now at AFC and I was really happy to see him. You know, he could have been my boss again and the other staff in slacks and blazers could have been my colleagues as well, but no. Don’t get me wrong. I don’t regret letting that job offer go. If I was certain about it, I know I won’t let the opportunity pass.

What was going through my mind was that, how different my life would be if I accepted that job. 9 to 6 working hours, formal office wear, all very corporate. I imagined myself in that situation and I don’t think I want to do that just yet. It was step forward, but for me to take later. Maybe not there but somewhere else.

So if I can go back to that day when I had to make a decision about my career, would I have decided otherwise? Unlikely.

Drop A Comment

