Smart Casual

I attended my first government event last night. It was held by the Malaysia Sports & Youth Minister, Khairy Jamaluddin for the Malaysian sports media.

On the invitation card states Dress code: Smart Casual. So I decided to wear my satin blouse which was my Raya attire last year which actually comes with a sarong but I thought I should wear it with my khaki pants because ‘smart casual’.

I arrived at Hilton KL and saw people coming in wearing complete Raya attires – baju kurung, baju melayu with songkok and sampin and I was like ‘Is this smart casual according to the government?’. Then I felt underdressed because I was wearing pants!

What is ‘smart casual’ according to people on Twitter:

….I’m pretty sure smart casual includes shoes.

When I told my Mum there were people wearing baju Raya at a buka puasa event she said I should have known – so not helping!

Then the Sports Minister – Khairy arrived wearing just shirt and pants. What a relief! He probably didn’t have time to change because he’s a busy man but I don’t think so. I think he understood ‘smart casual’ ;)

971546_10201730867455350_1829026243_n

Drop A Comment

