Based on

I watched Argo the other day. I downloaded it before the Oscars but I watched it only after it won Best Picture at this year’s Oscar. I thought it was great. I love true stories and I think Ben Affleck did very well. After I watched it I can’t help but to find out more about it. I tend to be easily deceived and I would wonder if this or that scene really did happen especially if it blew me away.

That’s when I found out true-story movies are only ‘based’ on a true story. The key word here is ‘based’. That means it was not exactly like in the movie but the event did occur in the past. Omg I’m so naive or what?

After reading about Argo, the movie could be dull if they follow exactly how it was. But if you are going to search about it too, do it after and not before you watch it because that’s totally going to ruin everything.

 

3 thoughts on “Based on

  1. Jack March 19, 2013 / 8:32 PM

    Hye Aysha,
    Indeed I find Argo both amazing and conflicting. Amazing because the film was, well, good. Conflicting because it involves our Muslim brothers, but then again, its all about perspective. May I suggest another great movie which is of course based on a true story. Also both amazing and conflicting, Schindler’s List. Unless of course you’ve watched it. Heee. Have a nice day. ;)

    • Aysha March 19, 2013 / 8:35 PM

      Hi thanks. I’ll get it on the list to watch :)

  2. Ana March 22, 2013 / 9:57 PM

    I read about it BEFORE I saw the movie. I have to say, it made me even more curious as to how the movie will be. And wayhey, it totally blew me away. Another movie that Affleck directed that I absolutely love is Gone Baby Gone. Now THAT’s a fantastic movie that questions your moral judgments. :D

Drop A Comment

