Little Red Dot

I have been in Singapore for 1.5 year now and I can say that I’m already familiar with their lifestyle and character of people.

If you have never been to Singapore here are a few things you need to know about them:

1. Queue

Singaporeans love to queue. Fair to say that they are trained to queue for everything. Most Singaporeans take the bus or the train, they call it the MRT, to move around the island and it is actually very reliable. So you will see queues for bus, for train, to buy food and you’ll see the longest queue when there’s free stuff to be grabbed.

2. Escalator

When a Singaporean gets on an escalator, he or she will immediately stand on the left-side of the escalator. Basically on the right-side is for people who are rushing. I, myself have also ‘automatically’ stood on the left-side whenever I’m on the escalator. I never really cared before because in Malaysia, you just can’t be in a rush on an escalator.

If you’re in Singapore, and someone stands on the right-side, he/she is most likely a foreigner.

3. Tissues

Singaporeans at least use tissues to ‘save’ their tables or chairs at the food court. I find it quite funny and ridiculous at the same time when I found out about it. But my Singaporean friend told me, you can’t sit at a table if there’s tissues on it. That means the seats are taken. BUT! I have never done that okay…?

4. Lucky Plaza and Peninsula Plaza

Lucky Plaza is the Philippines mall. I am not sure if they really specially made it for the Philippines in Singapore but most of the stores there are owned by the Philippines. I am not sure if they really owned the stores but basically that’s where the Philippines go. I only go there for the Ayam Penyet. There are a few Ayam Penyet restaurants by Indonesians there. But DO NOT go there on a Sunday. It’s terribly crowded with Pinoys :S

Peninsula Plaza is the Burmese mall. I just discovered this. Their food stalls are there selling their food with their menu in Burmese. I don’t always go there. Nothing much there.

5. Ezlink

I think every Singaporean owns an Ezlink, even the school kids. Ezlink is like a Touch-N-Go card in Malaysia. They use Ezlink for the bus, train or even cabs.

6. Rich Indonesians

I say Rich Indonesians because I think only rich Indonesians can live in Singapore. To be honest I hardly seen Malaysians in Singapore. Indonesians, plenty. Especially at Orchard Road. Many times I have passed by them while hanging out at Orchard. Yea it’s quite easy to know they are Indonesians when they talk :)

7. Food

Many Malaysians think it’s difficult to find Halal food in Singapore. It’s only difficult if you don’t know where to find it. The fast-food here are Halal. Even Subway here is Halal now. For Malay food, normally you can find them at the food courts. Don’t worry too much about food here. But of course Malaysian foods are better ;)

8. Safety

Singapore is safe. I think this is the best thing about this tiny little island. I can leave my handbag on a seat to get my food without even hav to worry about it. Some others, leave their mobile phones. But I don’t do that. I love my phone to much to risk it.

Primary school kids here travel to school by themselves by taking the bus and train. That makes them very independent too.

9. Uptight

When I first came to Singapore, I thought Singaporeans are not so laid back like Malaysians. They look stressed and all they do is work, work and work. I can understand. The cost of living is too damn high.

After five days of work, you can see them all dressed up to party on a Friday night and Saturday night. On a Sunday night, the town is quite empty because we have to work on Monday. Singaporeans mostly like to party in the weekends.

10. Malls

Shops at the malls here close too early and open too late. In Malaysia, they open at 10am and closed at 10pm. Over here, they open at 11am and close at 9.30pm. Sometimes it’s frustrating especially when I leave work at about 8pm and when I wanna go to eat, they have closed the kitchen. K.

That’s all I have for now. I can’t say you will enjoy Singapore but you can try. It’s not too bad and the people are really nice :)

6 thoughts on “Little Red Dot

  1. [Gm] January 20, 2013 / 3:34 PM

    Interesting points, but found at least two things that I cannot agree…

    1. Queue… yes, generally, people in Singapore do queue when they are waiting for bus and MRT. They queue if there is a fixed line/fence/seats to queue. However, if you observe closely, there are a lot of people cutting queue, and rushing from the side of the line, when MRT/bus just arrived. It bothers me sometimes, but I have come to terms :-)

    6. I’m Indonesian. I currently reside in Singapore. And I am not rich :D… hehehe. And, I have *much* more Malaysian colleagues than fellow countrymen in the office.

    I guess it depends on where you look. Indonesian in Orchard are most likely tourists… *this is an assumption, though. I don’t have the statistics.

  2. Ana January 20, 2013 / 6:18 PM

    YAY FOR THIS POST! Now I know what to expect coz I’m planning on a short one night trip to Singapore in February during the CNY holidays and it’ll be my first time in Singapore haha. :D

    • Aysha January 20, 2013 / 6:54 PM

      Haha! WhatsApp me when you are here ;)

      • Ana January 20, 2013 / 10:29 PM

        definitely will contact you! ;)

  3. Farhanah D January 20, 2013 / 10:56 PM

    The opposite! I’m so used to London way of living; Londoners stand on the right of the escalator instead of the left.

    • Aysha January 20, 2013 / 11:25 PM

      Really? Haha I didn’t know that

Drop A Comment

