Clique

I signed up on Twitter in 2009 but I was only active a year after that, I think. So this is my third year tweeting and it’s getting way too crowded. By now I have about 16.8k followers and that’s both and good at the same time.

Sometimes I wish I don’t have that many followers and I thought of privatised my Twitter many times but it has brought me many unexpected good things. My Twitter has always been something that I use for myself since the first day I set it up. It’s like this blog, my personal blog and there’s a reason why I never mentioned my employer’s name on my Bio because my tweets are not theirs. Some people just do not get it and that’s their problem.

I have my reasons why I don’t follow many. I’m following 150 people now including people who don’t follow me back like….Ian Somerhalder, Ed Sheeran, Frank Ocean, etc. I think 150 is already a lot and sometimes I can’t keep up. I always wonder how can one person follow thosands on Twitter. If I’m following someone, I wouldn’t want to miss his/her tweets.

One thing I loathe about Twitter are the cliques. There are certain groups of people or ‘friends’ who will tweet about the same thing together, like and hate the same thing, with their own inside jokes and all. Some cliques will have a certain hashtag to label themselves and they’ll mention it on their Twitter Bio. Like what? Some gangs of keyboard warriors? Yuck.

Since my school days, I never liked to be in this or that clique. I have a few close friends that I trust and that’s good enough for me. I don’t need a group of so called friends who will hate what I hate and love what I like.

Some people need to know that when you follow someone on Twitter, don’t expect their tweets to always be in your favour and when it’s not, you get mad. That’s foolish. You shouldn’t be on Twitter at all in the first place. There’s no right or wrong in opinions. You either like it or you don’t.

I honestly don’t hesitate to block or unfollow anyone. People who are too offensive, do not need to see my tweets and I do not need to see what they mention to me. The block and unfollow buttons are not there for nothing.

I don’t tweet to make everybody loves me. I can if I want to but that’s not my way.

Drop A Comment

