To Persuade or To Console ?

I remember back in primary school days where each student had this Kad 101, the yellow one where they put all your personal information in there and also your performance in class. I am not sure if they still have that now.

There was this grading column on that card on social skill, I think. It was called ‘Daya Pujuk’. Okay pujuk can mean to things in Malay, it’s either persuade or console. Anyhow, I got a C for ‘Daya Pujuk’. o_O

First of all, I didn’t and still don’t know why ‘Daya Pujuk’ matters at all? Second of all, I really didn’t know when did the teacher grade me on my ‘consoling’ skill cause there wasn’t a test or whatever and third, I disagreed that my ‘Daya Pujuk’ was only a C. And I still remember I thought to myself that, if the teacher would really see how I would console a person, I would have at least gotten a B+. That was when I was 9 I think.

I got over that.

Now, after more than 10 years I realized that the C was probably significant or perhaps that C was a mercy on me. In fact if I would grade myself now, it would be an F, a red F. This is IF that pujuk meant consoling.

If there’s anything that I am bad at, I would say consoling people. I always know what to do and what not to do. But when someone cries helplessly, I would not know what to do at all. I suck big time at that. I don’t know what to say either. I don’t know if someone cries, should I say something to make he/she stops crying, or should I just let it be ?

See, that’s a problem.

Anyway, if that pujuk meant persuade, it’s an A++ straight away without a second thought.

4 thoughts on “To Persuade or To Console ?

  1. Ana January 15, 2011 / 7:36 PM

    Bab bodek, I memang no. 1. Tu pun kalau nak duit lah. Kalau nk benda lain, sobsob, tak dapek :(

  2. Aysha January 15, 2011 / 7:59 PM

    Persuading is a skill. Practice more and you can do it ! ;)

  3. Anonymous January 18, 2011 / 3:09 AM

    eh, its kad 001 oh.

Drop A Comment

