Wet Pathway

I have friends from all walks of lives pursuing all different kinds of dreams. Most commonly is engineering. Be it chemical, mechanical or electrical which I find boring. No offense to fellow engineers to be but common is boring. Others are doing economy, medic, business, biotech and arts.

I have two friends who are in the Akademi Laut Malaysia or they call it ALAM. You know, it’s pretty predictable when we hear people talk about how is engineering, medic or even business. But those in ALAM has a different interesting story to tell about what they do.

They only come back home to see family and friends perhaps once in six months. They are on water more than on the land. They got to travel to many different countries while working/studying. My friend there has been on the shores of Turkey, Mexico, Taiwan, UK and many others. Yea sure pilots and stewards got to do that too, but not many got to travel by water.

I asked him how is it like on the ship and he said it feels like you’re on the land if the water is calm.

I asked again if there was any storm in the middle of the ocean and how was it like when it happened, and he said yes he had experienced that and it’s the worst part of job. It’s scary where people get dizzy and some even threw up. He said he would never want to go through that again. Cause when you’re in the middle of the ocean, there’s really nothing much you can do.

As he said that, I swear I sort of had Titanic and Poseidon movie scenes on my mind hehe ;)

He also mentioned, “There is no single girl on the boat. All are dudes. 6 months straight on ship around these guys. I might as well turn gay. But no, I’m still straight, okay?” :P

2 thoughts on “Wet Pathway

  1. M January 2, 2011 / 8:16 PM

    “There is no single girl on the boat. All are dudes. 6 months straight on ship around these guys. I might as well turn gay. But no, I'm still straight, okay?” :P
    Part paling best haha =)

  2. Aysha January 2, 2011 / 8:23 PM

    Yeaa the only reason they can't wait to hit the shores is to see girls hehe :)

Drop A Comment

